Peter Pan Complex

I love a good Peter Pan collar.

LOVE it.

It’s so cute and feminine and retro-looking and can add a little something extra to a lot of different garments. This probably goes back to my days as a teenage riot grrrl. A time when this picture adorned my bedroom wall for many years.

At the time, I was Captain Awkward of the HMS Tomboy, so I did not have any dresses like that. Last year, Asos.com had a dress very similar to the one The Girl With The Most Cake wore in the first picture.

I totally would’ve bought it, on the spot – full price – if not for one thing. The dress, like every other dress for sale right now it seems, was ridiculously short. I realise I’m just slightly taller than what most shops classify as “average”. Add onto that a booty that won’t quit and the fact that my height is all in my legs and even some skirts marketed as “midi-length” are too damn short for me.

Now I’m not a prude and have no problem showing off my body. But sometimes, I want to be able to wear nice, new clothes to work and not just outside of the workplace. That means I need skirts and dresses no shorter than 3 inches above the knee. With tights, I can get away with a shorter hemline, and outside of work, if I have tights on, all I care is that my ass is covered.

Since finding dresses that fit that incredibly rigid criteria is next to impossible, you’d think I’d have a closet full of dresses and blouses I made myself, with a variety of those cutesy rounded collars, right? Well, let me tell you a secret. Get close to the screen, I’ll whisper it.

Closer now, I don’t want everyone hearing this.

Okay here goes:

I am horrible at making Peter Pan collars.

There, I said it.

Oh I’ve tried. Ceiling Cat knows I’ve tried making Peter Pan collars. I make a lot of my own clothing patterns, either from scratch, or with an existing pattern as a building block. I’ve tried both methods for the collar and no dice. It always comes out too small or too wide or doesn’t lay flat or fit to the neckline or one side is bigger than the other. Regular shirt collars? No problem, bring it on. A Peter Pan collar constructed in the exact same fashion, just curvier? 20 minutes in and I’ve entered Swearing Tantrumville. 45 minutes later I’m crying on the floor.

But this summer, I’m determined to conquer the Peter Pan collar. I have some darling red and white micro-dot fabric that is begging to be made into a dress with a white Peter Pan collar. It will be mine. Oh yes.

Once I’ve mastered that, I expect, what with my obsessive personality, to have a closet full of Peter Pan collared dresses and blouses. At least one of them will have a scalloped collar, like this one from Modcloth, because it’s just too cute!

 

It’s like being a walking flower!

So my pattern drafting text books from school and I have a date soon. I will report back when I have the cutest dresses ever.

3 responses to “Peter Pan Complex

  1. You know, as soon as I read he first line I thought, ‘oh I love them too, but I hate sewing them ‘….if you get up a sure fire tut’ on them, I’ll be giddy!

    • I’m determined to not give up until I get it right! And once I do, I think I just might make a tutorial. Peter Pan collars seem to be tricky for a few people. πŸ™‚

  2. You can do eet! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

