Nail Polish as Self-Care

I’ve painted my nails three times this week. Not just a touch up here and there throughout the week. I mean three different colours between Monday night and now.

I usually like to do something a little different with my nails: paint 9 of them one colour, and use a completely different colour for the 10th or glitter-bombing one nail. I try to do intricate designs, but a combination of short attention span, low level patience and my caffeine-addiction/general anxiety shaky hands makes this difficult.

I’ve really gotten into the French manicure lately. And, thanks to my 3 manicures this week, I think I’ve gotten pretty good at it.

I’m a very DIY beauty-type person: I cut and colour my hair myself, do my own manicures/pedicures, facials, body hair removal, etc. I think of it like this: I’m an adult. I can wash/clean myself all on my own! I do believe it paying people when necessary, but more in the car washing/pizza making/plumbing fields.

At dance class last night, a few people were admiring my nails. One person, noticing only my right ring finger was fully painted, while the others just had the tips painted, commented “they only painted one finger?!!” I answered that I did it myself and I meant for only one to be painted.

On learning that I did my own French manicure, the consensus was “you must have awfully steady hands!”

And today, I was asked for any tricks for beginner French manicurists.

I can assure you all, I 1) do not have steady hands and 2) am not some kind of manicure genius from a distant galaxy.

So after a trying day at work in which my co-workers don’t seem to understand the meaning of “co-” (don’t worry, if you’re reading this, you’re probably not one of those co-workers), all I could think of was “fuck this, I’m going home to paint my nails”. And lo, a tutorial was born!

For ease of reading/linking, the tutorial itself will be in the following post, or by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

