One More: OOTD

Normally, I don’t like to post two OOTDs in as many days.

No one needs to see my face that often!

However, I am on fire. Figuratively.

I came home from dance class last night and thought “okay! Time to iron a shirt to wear to work tomorrow!” This sounded less than fun. Then I noticed some vintage fabric that’s just been hanging out in my bedroom for a couple years and thought “I could make a new top instead  of just ironing an existing one.”

And so, for the second night in a row, I made a new top to wear to work the next day. I’m in love with this one – the colour, the cut, the print. It’s very similar to yesterday’s top, but I’ve worked out some kinks. It’s New Shirt, v2.0!

 

The rest of the outfit:

Pants, Tripp NYC (from Torrid), 16  //  Necklace, thrifted  //  Barrettes, vintage Goody  //   Shoes, Alegria, EUR41   //  Glasses, Derek Cardigan  // (mostly obscured) Ring, Smart Set

The fabric is weird. It’s a tissuey, gauzy cotton and the splotches feel and look almost hand painted.I have no idea where it came from – it was given to me from my grandmother, who was given it by one of the other ladies in her building a few years back.

I promise you, I’m not making another new top tonight.  I do have limits. However, it got me thinking.

One of the things I was told in my reading on Saturday was to stop looking at the big picture (waaay easier said than done for me!). Just take the first step and see where I can go from there. Obviously, with my education in Fashion Design and Costume Design (for which I’m still paying student loans), I’d like to do more than make things for myself, sell wallets and purses, and work in a soul sucking office for the rest of my life. But designing a line of clothing is a huge time, money, spatial and mental commitment.

If I don’t sell all my wallets right now, they sit in a small box in my closet until I do sell them. Which does eventually happen. If I make a line of skirts, dresses and blouses, and none of them sell, I’ve got a metric shit-ton of clothing sitting in my 600 square foot apartment. Along with all my other crap. And I’ve defeated myself before I’ve begun.

Big picture, people, big picture.

But I don’t need to do all that. I can start with one simple garment. Test the waters. If it goes over well, I can make a coordinate and go from there.

So I think I’m going to try making some more blouses pictured here and in yesterday’s post. Just in random, fluid, lightweight cotton prints, a couple at a time.

I’d like to try and get a couple made up in the coming weeks and posted to my Etsy shop. I’m really, really excited about this. The idea just popped into my head this afternoon, almost out of nowhere. It feels so tangible. This is something I could actually do and be successful with. My brain is going at a million kilometres an hour right now (it usually cruises around a half-million). I have so many ideas that I could easily do. So many, in fact, that I can’t believe I haven’t implemented any of them before. Nothing before its time, I guess.

I need to work at reigning this project in, before it gets too big and out of hand and I give up on it. Words of encouragement would be much appreciated!

Until then, be good to each other!

 

6 responses to “One More: OOTD

  1. Ooohh! I want one! For realz!

  2. Love the top!

  3. I too am trying to start a sewing based business & I really like your idea of scaling back & taking it one thing at a time. Good luck on escaping the desk jockey existence! It’s one of my main goals too.

Leave a Reply

