Holy Snickerdoodles! It’s November!

With Hallowe’en over, the weather, television, radio and magazines promptly decided It Is Now Christmas.

I have seen so many holiday ads on TV already and already heard some holiday music in the stores!  I needed some fake blood on Sunday for my burlesque show and had to go to 4 different stores before I found some! But I was tripping over holiday decorations already!

It all turned out, as I got to look like this for the finale:

 

I did 5 costume changes at that show and then next night I had a dress rehearsal with my belly dance group. It was crazy busy at work all week, so by time I got to Hallowe’en – aka the best day of the year – I was burnt out and stressed and didn’t want to do anything. I came home after work, ordered pizza and watched movies. At least I wore orange and black!

 

But I was talking about how It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas, wasn’t I?

Yes, this happened today:

 

The the heavy snow made the drive home pretty tense. It took over an hour to get home, when it usually only takes 20. I came home, put on my jammies and decided to do some baking.

I have it in my head that I’m going to get a bunch of work done this weekend because “i’m snowed in”. I don’t know where I came up with that, because it takes a lot more snow to be snowed in in Saskatchewan! (as in, I’ve never been snowed in or had work/school cancelled due to weather). But at any rate, I would like to get a bunch of work done this weekend while I’m avoiding scary roads.

So I’ve been wanting to make Snickerdoodle cookies for a while. I’ve never had one before and thought they looked delicious and had to try them. I know, I know – how did I get to be 32 without ever having a Snickerdoodle? Well, there’s a laundry list of stuff I’ve never had. Everyone at work found it hilarious last month when I had a Gobstopper for the first time.

“It’s just like a jawbreaker!” They said. Well, I’ve never had a jawbreaker either. This left people wondering if I had any kind of childhood at all.

But tonight I got to cross Snickerdoodles off the list! I used Ash-Lee’s recipe for the cookies, for the most part.  I didn’t put chai in mine, due to the fact that I’m still pretty much scared of chai. Just because I’ve had ONE chai tea that I like doesn’t mean that I actually like chai tea.

I also had to take out the cream of tartar because I didn’t have any. Ash-Lee’s blog was pretty adamant about cream of tartar – ALL the cream of tartar, all the time! I mentioned this to another friend tonight, half out of whining and half because she knows all the things when it comes to cooking and figured she’d know how I could get around the cream of tartar thing without having to go to the store.

“Just take out the tartar and the baking soda, and add in the same amount of baking powder”. Now, I’ve never had a Snickerdoodle, so I don’t know what they’re supposed to taste like, but these ones turned out pretty damn tasty, even without cream of tartar.

 

I baked the first batch all rolled up in balls and that did not turn out at all! Set off the smoke alarm (at midnight!) and turned to molten lava on the bottom. So the second batch, I flattened out a bit and that made the delicious cookies you see above! The first batch, disappointingly, turned out more like this:

 

I let these cool and then promptly threw them in the garbage. I was so discouraged, I almost didn’t try another batch! But I forged ahead and am so glad I did! Now I have tasty treats for the weekend and can scratch something off my miles-long “Stuff I’ve Never Eaten Before” list. Who knows, maybe tomorrow I’ll try eating a beet.

No, I probably will not. Let’s not get crazy.

November and December are shaping up to be crazy-busy months – even though I don’t care for “the holidays” at all. So I hope I can get a few posts in by the end of the month, but I’m not holding my breath. I’ll see what I can do!

Be good to each other!

One response to “Holy Snickerdoodles! It’s November!

  1. Oh what a great tip for the baking powder! I’ll have to keep that in mind – whee! Thanks friend of D!

    mmm the second batch looks delicious! Hey, everyone’s oven is different and needs a little TLC right? Looks like it was worth the second go around! I wish I could come over for cookies. They look so good Deanne – you are awesome.

    Speaking of things looking so good – your amazing makeup for the finale! Whee! May we all have amazing lashes and blood on our faces, amen.

Leave a Reply

