OOTD: Uniform of the Overworked

Friends, I’m stressed out. Work is super busy and will be all week. My coworker, who shares the same duties as me, is away this week, so I’m doing the work of 2 people. But considering that we both do the work of 2 people, I’m basically doing the work of 4 people this week.

To keep me sane while working, I’m listening to DreadCentral.com’s Dinner for Fiends podcast. I just started listening, so I have lots of episodes to catch up on and listen to throughout the day. The only other podcast I listen to is Rue Morgue –  any other podcast I try to listen to just doesn’t hold my attention. Moral of the story: I guess I need my podcasts to be funny and about dead things to interest me.

So in being stressed out and tired and winter apparently refusing to die, I haven’t had much gumption to make myself look any better than just decent. However, today I looked cute and as I left for work I thought “I hope I don’t feel like shit when I get home, I need to take pictures of this outfit!” Once I got to work, my coworker even mentioned that I needed to do an OOTD on this outfit, so I took that as a sign.

IMG_0001

Blouse: Ricki’s, 16  //  Pants: Ricki’s 16 //  Tie: thrifted, vintage

Wow, I never wear a shirt and pants from the same store! I just realised that. I learned how to tie a short tie on the weekend (you just tie it so the skinny part is really long, and then tuck that into your shirt between the buttons) and it’s renewed my love of neckties. This tie though, was originally from Big & Tall, so the skinny tail tucked into my shirt, into my pants and ran halfway down my leg! I’ll think I’ll cut it down before I wear it next time.

IMG_0002

One thing that I hate about doing OOTDs in the winter: the same shoes I wear all day are never the ones I photograph. I wear boots to work and then change into other shoes at work. Before I left work tonight, I at least remembered to photograph my shoes, because they were just too cute to leave out!

IMG_0512Payless, size 10. A little pinchy in the toes, especially after 11 hours.

I’m also tired of not doing anything with my hair, because I just smush a toque onto my head, ruining any semblance of nice hair I might have started with. I just want flowers in my hair, cute dresses and shoes and wearing less than 5 layers all the time! Normally, I find something enjoyable about every season (except Spring. I friggen hate you, Spring; the only thing redeeming about you is that you bring my birthday), but I’m officially over winter.

What do you do to shake the winter blues? Also, what’s your favourite podcast? (involving dead things or not. I can be flexible)

Stay warm and take care of each other!

Leave a Reply

