Where My Introverts At?

A really cute comic strip was forwarded to me today from a friend, reminding us of a run-in I had last year with a…. staunch extrovert, if you will. For a brief period of time, I was kind of seeing this person who acted as if they had never met an introvert before. They couldn’t understand what made my kind of folk tick. I was a science experiment to them.

Try as I might, I just couldn’t get across what makes an introvert. I’m not shy, I’m not a snob, I don’t think I’m above other people. I just don’t need to be talking and visiting and being around people all the time. This drawing, by Schroeder Veidt, is exactly what I’ve been trying to put into words. (click to enlarge & read)

how_to_live_with_introverts_guide_printable_by_sveidt-d5b09fj

 

 

This is so perfect! Also, I want my own hamster ball. Whenever the discussion rolls around to most-wanted super powers (what? I’m a nerd; these things come up), I always want invisibility. I can just stroll through a crowd, observe, go about my business and not be expected to carry on conversations, make small talk and give so much of my energy.

So if you know some introverts, keep this in mind! Just because we don’t want to spend every single day or every single lunch break or every single weekend with you, doesn’t mean we don’t like you, or don’t want to spend some time you. This goes double (or triple!) for introverts with anxiety!

Respect everyone’s space and take care of each other!

One response to “Where My Introverts At?

  1. Haha, I’ve seen this graphic before and it’s pretty spot on. The only issue I take with it is that it seems to further polarize extroversion/introversion. In reality, everyone is extroverted and introverted – we all just have different levels of each. It’s a light-hearted take on it, though, so it’s all good πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

