Review: L’oreal Infallible 24 Hr Lacquer Liner

The one beauty product I absolutely cannot live without is eyeliner. I can have a full face of foundation, powder, blush, eye shadow, mascara and lipstick, but without eyeliner, I feel naked and that I look like I’m 12. Even if I slap a little drug-store, 99 cent eye pencil on, I still feel naked. I need my liquid lined cat eyes!

Cat eyes are my thing. I get compliments on how well I do them all the time (professional make up artists have even given me props before!). Practice makes perfect, I tell people all the time. I’ve been doing this for years and really only got good at it in the last couple years.

Normally, my go-to eyeliner is Mac’s Liquidlast.

liquidlastliner

 

 

It’s completely waterproof, which makes it weatherproof, and cry-baby proof! I also just have really watery eyes to begin with – a little time outside on a windy day and my eyes are crying until I can’t see. With a non-water proof liner, I always end up with racoon eyes.

My current tube of eyeliner was drying up  last week, which was the worst time, because I definitely didn’t have $25 to drop on eyeliner in between paycheques!

Then I saw a commercial for L’oreal’s 24hr Infallible Lacquer Liner. The commercial came on a few times one night before I really paid attention. The gel formula looked like a good substitute for my liquid liner. And with L’oreal being available at places like Walmart and Shopper’s, I knew it wasn’t going to run me much more than $10.

I picked up a tube in Blackest Black (hey, once a goth…) at Superstore for $11.99. They had it cheaper ($10.99 I think?) at Walmart, but not in black.

L’Oreal-Infallible-Gel-Lacquer-Liner-17

 

The liners I’ve used in the past have either been pencils, brushes in tubes like my usual Mac, or felt-tip pen style (which I hate!). So the dip-a-brush-in-gel formula was new for me! If you’ve never used a gel liner before, think of having a pot of makeup that’s a bit thicker than lipstick, maybe.

The brush took a little getting used to and I definitely had to practice a few times before I could get a straight line drawn. Now, I really like that with a slight twist, I can go from a thicker line out to a fine point.

 

IMG_0517

 

(Sorry, no full face picture – my skin is out of control right now. But the line in the picture was drawn with the L’oreal)

I wouldn’t call this liner 100% waterproof, but it does hold up pretty well. I’ve only had a slight-case of raccoon eye once, so far. The day that occurred, it was -46C with the wind (no really) and I had to walk about 6-7 blocks from my car to my office. My eyelashes and and hair were all frozen, so once I got inside, the frost melted and liquified my liner a little bit.

The nice thing though is, the liner cleans up really, really easily. That day, I just licked my thumb and rubbed the smudges off and reshaped the cat eye. At the end of the day, I just take a cotton pad, with a bit of make up remover and it comes off in seconds. Anyone who’s used the Mac Liquidlast knows that that doesn’t happen that easily. At the end of the day with the Mac, I’m scrubbing with makeup remover for a good 2-3 minutes. If I draw a line and screw up, I’m stuck with that line for the day. If you’ve ever seen me with really thick eyeliner, it’s probably because I was trying to hide a mistake!

So, overall, this is a great every day liner, and probably something that I’ll integrate into a daily routine. In the summer, as the temperature gets make-up meltingly hot, I may have to switch back to Mac. I think I’ll also save the Mac for bellydance and burlesque shows – I’ll be on stage, sweaty, full of adrenaline – I don’t want to be worrying “Is my eyeliner running right now?”

I may want to try the brown one (in Bronze or Espresso), as brown looks really great with blue eyes. With a price point of $10-$12, I can afford to have a couple colours, which is something that I could never justify with the $25 Mac liner.

Have you tried the new L’oreal liner? Leave a comment with what you think!

Take care of each other – and look fabulous while doing it!

One response to “Review: L’oreal Infallible 24 Hr Lacquer Liner

  1. Must Have Boxes

    I still haven’t made the switch to liquid eyeliner. Your cat eye looks great though.

    – KW
    musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

