A Dress Making Machine

I’ve made (finished) 3 dresses in the last week! There was, of course, the previously-blogged zebra dress made for a friend’s wedding, and then I made a darling red & white polka dot dress that I didn’t photograph because my skin is out of control and I felt hideous on the day I wore it. Of  course, after I changed out of that outfit at the end of the day, I thought “dude, you could’ve just photoshopped your skin to look better!” Duh. Next time!

Then, on Saturday, I was at the Folk Festival here in Regina, which is always a great venue for people watching. After looking at all the gorgeous dresses and skirts my fellow festival-goers were wearing, I decided that I really needed a jersey knit maxi dress. It would be the ultimate comfy garment for festivalling. I didn’t have tickets to the main stage acts this year, so I was home around 7 last night. Plenty of time to whip up a dress for Sunday at the festival!

I knew exactly what fabric I wanted to use and knew exactly where it was. So when I got home, I got to work and after just a couple hours, I had a new, comfy dress to wear today!

rff dress

 

Dress has POCKETS because every dress should have pockets, especially when you’re going to an all-day event and need a place to stash money and your phone, while still having it at the ready.

Also: sunglasses! These glasses have been lost all summer and I found them last week in my car (which I had searched 3 times already). I have several pairs of shades, but these are my absolute favourite. I bought them when I was a 15 year old Riot Grrrl, after seeing a picture of Courtney Love wearing ones similar in Spin magazine. For a pair of cheap sunglasses, they’re really held up over the last 18 years!

Folk Fest is now over for another year and I have a wicked sunburn to show for it (I even had sunscreen on!). I guess I’ll have to wear a strapless dress (with a cardigan) to work tomorrow because I really can’t handle straps digging into my red shoulders right now!

I do want to make a new cross-body bag for my holiday yet (because I’m crazy and always need to sew all the things before going on a holiday), so I might update with that later in the week. If not, watch for vacation pictures when I’m back!

Take care of each other and wear sunscreen!

One response to “A Dress Making Machine

Leave a Reply

