It’s Almost the Best Day of the Year!

I love Autumn, and more specifically, Hallowe’en. As such, I end up being so busy in September and October that I don’t have time to update the blog!

I’ve been up to my ears in costuming – for myself, for friends and fellow burlesque/belly dancers. Usually because of this, I’m all Hallowe’ened out by time I actually get to October 31st. This year though, I was able to pull some stuff from my closet and some pieces from a recent burlesque performance to put together a witch costume.

This is the first time I’ve ever dressed up as a witch. It seems like a pretty mundane costume, but growing up with my mom and grandma being seamstresses and later myself, I always had interesting costumes. Some of the homemade things I’ve been over the years are:

The Statue of Liberty

A pop can

A magician’s rabbit (with the bottom half of me being an upside down top hat)

A zombie ER nurse

The Rumor from Umbrella Academy

As well as Big Bird, a bear, a butterfly, a fairy, a pirate (3 times) and a cat (3 times).

Last night I was going to a play that SaskArtGirl was in and it was a costumes-encouraged event. I threw some stuff together and said “Hey, lookit me! I’m a witch”.

IMG_0005

The blouse, skirt and petticoat I made for various other projects (the skirt for belly dance, the petticoat for my regular wardrobe and the blouse for a pirate burlesque piece). The underbust corset I got at Taboo last year. Hat is from Target, socks are from Sock Dreams and the boots are Steve Madden. The necklace came from a vendor at a belly dance show a few years ago.

There was a little costume competition at intermission and I won first prize! (This is the 4th costume contest I’ve won. See – studying costume design in university DID pay off! sigh…)

Screen shot 2013-10-26 at 10.54.44 PMI won 2 tickets to the Regina Little Theatre’s One-Act Plays Cabaret in the Spring, 2 tickets to any regular season production and a bowl of candies!

Tonight I made a wreath for my apartment door. I have some new neighbours who are kind of jerks, so I hope this wreath doesn’t grow legs and walk away..

Screen shot 2013-10-26 at 10.53.15 PM

I didn’t have a foam base to start on and I’m stuuuupid-broke right now, so I had to work with what I had around the house. I found a tutorial to make a wreath with rolled up pieces of newspaper, so I did that and wrapped masking tape around it. Then I wrapped black and white broadcloth around it and the green ribbon. I had a papier-mache  skull in the closet that I painted black (because I’m the kind of person that just has ready-to-paint skulls and coffins kicking around…). I finished it off with a black lace bow. I have to say I’m pretty impressed!

Next up, I’m got a belly dance costume to make for the end of November (but sooner that later so I can practice in it), and some new things for the True Knit Art Show on November 9th. The fun never ends! (No really, this is fun. Even when I don’t have time to sleep and my house is falling apart around me…)

I’m hoping to get one more Hallowe’en post in with it being the best day ever and all. Hopefully later this week!

Take care of each other and stay spooky!

newsig

Leave a Reply

