Ugly Christmas Sweater, 2.0

Last night, I got home from work and decided that although I already had 3 projects I was in the middle of knitting, none of my gifts were wrapped and I still had a gift to make, I definitely needed to make a dress right then.

I’ve had this ugly-ass fabric in my closet for years. Every once in a while I pull it out and drape in over myself in various ways, thinking “do I dare?”

Screen shot 2013-12-19 at 10.39.09 PMIt’s “nordic print”, which I generally find ugly, but with bonus teddy bears! Extra eye-bleeding, hard to look at nonsense!

So I laid it out and started cutting. In a few hours, I had this:

IMG_0005

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It turned out super cute, as far as I’m concerned. I got a million compliments on it at work today. It has pockets, is super comfy and basically feels like I’m wearing my jammies all day.

I’m really in love with this collar:

IMG_0004I threw some vintage buttons on there at the last minute for a bit of decoration and really like them.

I’ve wanted to make something with a collar like this for a while but was afraid of it. Turns out, this collar is dead easy. So I foresee more dresses like this in my future. Maybe not as loud as this one, but we’ll see. I still have a good 2 metres left of this fabric that I’m trying to figure out what to do with.

For now, I definitely have to spend the weekend finishing up gifts and wrappings them. And of course celebrating the solstice!

Happy Yule, Solstice, Christmas and whatever else you’re into!

newsig

 

Leave a Reply

